Skip to content

Me? A featured photographer?

February 5, 2009

I woke up today and got on my computer as I usually do and checked all the toy cam blogs that I am currently obsessed following and low and behold I spotted my name.  Nic Nichols at Four Corners Dark, one of the best sites out there for toy photography, has marked me as one of this weeks featured photographers.  I made some sort of high pitched squeek when I saw this of course.  This is the first time I have actually been called a photographer by someone much more professional than me.  I am really excited to get my name out there and utterly pleased that someone else likes my photographs enough to feature them.  I guess this means that I’m going to have to start updating this blog a bit more now (damn dark winter days, so bad for photography).

Here, for your viewing pleasure I submit a few of my favorite pictures i have taken.

My Mom arrived in Ireland sick as a dog so when we picked her up from the airport of course I took a picture.  We then took a drive in the country side and did I remember to wind the film?  Nope.

Holga expired kodak ektachrome tungsten

Rats don’t always sworm around when some guy on the beach has a bunch of bread crumbs, i guess thats because they can’t flt away if you want to eat them.  However, seagulls do.  I love the softness of this shot and the leak in the corner.

Diana F+ on some sort of film, probably Fuji something

Maybe one of my luckiest shot but probaly not.  This is a graveyard that is next to some luxury appartments and was the last picture on the first roll of film that went through my holga.

Holga on whatever film came with the camera, i think Fuji or something

4 Comments leave one →
  1. filmfish permalink
    February 5, 2009 4:31 pm

    yay! congratulations!

  2. February 7, 2009 10:59 am

    nice to see you featured on fourcornersdark too ! Your shots are awesome, I really like your overlapping Holga shot. And the Diana F+ shot looks almost the same like my birdshot, also done with a Diana+.. She makes nice burns, doesn’t she 🙂
    Congratz & Greetings from another toycamfreak 🙂

  3. February 7, 2009 2:51 pm

    hey thanks. the diana really does do some out of this world stuff. if only it could be predicted but i guess thats half the fun.

  4. February 13, 2009 2:37 pm

    That churchyard shot is fantastic. I’ve always wondered if it was possible to take a photo like this, but without any black ‘bars’ seperating each frame on the film. I.e you take a photo and then wind the film on, but not as far as usual(just enough so the next picture butts against the last one on the roll of 120film). So you end up with one long strip of 120 film with a seamless image on it. Would be incrediby difficult with something like a holga/diana, but possible with a TLR like a Yashica/Lubitel on a tripod. Or it might not be possible at all(I’ve not really thought it through very much!).

    /runs off to see if it has been done on flickr.

    congrats on FCD too, Nic’s blog is a brilliant source of lo-fi stuff.

Leave a Reply

