Skip to content

Bad weather doesn’t always mean bad photos….

February 12, 2009

I have been toying with the idea of boycotting photography to show the weather who’s really in charge here but after a long discussion between the voices in my head I figured this wouldn’t make any difference.  I recently picked up a roll from my Diana F+ and was quite disappointed when most of the pictures turned out quite dark, nice but dark.  I then was thinking of ways to make the best out this dark and gloomy time of year and i remembered this little gem buried deep in my Flickr stream.  I took this out of pure boredom and frustration one rainy day with my Holga and didn’t really expect much but it came out quite well if you ask me.  So i did some more digging and actually reminded myself that it is possible to take good pictures in bad weather.

Thes next two shots were both taken one evening in a tunnel trying to escape a sudden downpour.  I think I had just gotten my Diana F+.  The first shot is from right before the storm (we actually could see it coming) and the one after that is the wet dog aftermath.

I was always pleased with the subtle double exposure in this one and the oily lens flare.

By far one of my favorite shots of Sam.  He was dripping wet and full of sand.

So there you have it, it is possible to make beautiful photographic art in crap weather.  This revelation has surely lifted my spirits and inspired me to get back out there with a camera and a coat, now if only I had some film that wasn’t 100 ISO or lower.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2009 11:25 am

    I adore the first picture!

  2. February 12, 2009 4:45 pm

    thanks. its one of my favorites.
    thanks for visiting

Leave a Reply

