Skip to content

Beautiful city, beautiful life…

March 28, 2009

So I am off to Berlin in a week to get married to my wonderfull woman and its all very exciting.  Not only am I really excited to get married and have all my family over to Berlin and all that but I am also really excited to just be going to Berlin again.  Last time I was there I burned through many rolls of film and got some really nice shots.  Berlin is a brilliant city to photograph and we will have plenty of time to wander around with the cameras.  For this post I thought I could showcase just how spectacular this city is with some of the best shots from my last trip there.

All these shots are from my Holga CFN with some old expired Kodak Ektachrome Tungsten that a found in Oxfam.  The one at the top was obviously from the plan ride there (the journey started that way so why not the post?).  The second shot was taken at Brandeberger Gate and is two fake soldiers standing on gaurd to represent the reunification of Germany or maybe they’re trying to say no hard feelings from the Cold War.  For 1 Euro you could have your picture taken with them but I chose to go down the free route.

This is right next to those fake soldiers and it is the Hotel Adlon.  On the right side of this hotel is the balcony where Micheal Jackson dangled his baby over the edge for all the world to see.  While I was taking this photo there was an American tour group about ten feet away with the tour guide enthusiastically telling this famous story.

We stumbled upon this little gem of photographic opportunity in Alexander Platz after spotting something that looked really strange in the distance.  We walked closer and it turned out to be a tiny shanty town.  Somehow it was a demonstration against global warming but I didn’t really get the point of it.  I also took some shots of this with my other cameras (see them here) but I think the Holga shot turned out the best.

And finally there is this shot of the Berliner Dom.  When I picked up the prints from this roll I showed them to a friend of mine and she remarked that its really neat how you can take a picture with a Holga and it has more feeling and character than a run of the mill digital tourist type shot.  She might just have given me my greatest compliment yet.

So there you have it.  A beautiful city captured on a plastic camera and I am heading back here in a week for the most important event in my life.  Now, if I could only figure out which cameras to take with me.

If your would like to see more shots from Berlin you can check out my Flickr page here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. maryrestaino permalink
    March 28, 2009 12:56 pm

    Very nice photographs, a camera is a great companion to take along when exploring.

  2. March 29, 2009 12:03 pm

    First of all, congratulations with the marriage !
    Berlin is one of my favo cities too, especially to take lomographs. Really nice shots you’ve made, love the Dom photo also !

  3. April 3, 2009 12:40 pm

    i just found this blog thanks to Nic Nichols. You’re photos are intriguing. Wondering if you’d be interested in swapping links. I own The Photo Playground, you can check it out by clicking on my name.

  4. April 3, 2009 7:52 pm

    thanks sean. i added you to my links.

  5. seanstimac permalink
    April 4, 2009 3:02 pm

    Just added you as well and am now getting your RSS feed. Can’t wait for more.

Leave a Reply

