Skip to content

Holga Noir…

July 22, 2009

I don’t know why I haven’t made a post about this yet given that I am extremely proud of these shots and haven’t been this excited about a photographic technique in a while.  Anyways, I shot these when I was in Berlin this past April getting married and it marked the first time I have run black and white film through my Holga.

I actually got the black and white film (Kodak BW400CN) for use in some old cameras since I couldn’t face sending color film through cameras that where made years before it was popular.  You can see the results here from the Kershaw Penguin.  It was really on a whim and a lack of other film that I loaded up the Holga with it.

The results turned out well above my expectations.  It almost makes me think that my Holga was made for monochrome.  I will definitely be shooting more black and white in the future, in fact, I have a roll waiting for the financial power to get developed right now.

This last shot is one of my favorite shots I have ever taken.  Everyone must take a picture of this when they are in Berlin but I always neglected to but on this trip I made a point of it and it turned out wonderful.

By the way, there is a very special story behind four of the shots from this roll that I will be covering in a future blog post so stay tuned.

See the rest of this roll on my Flickr page here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

