Skip to content

Green Summer…

August 27, 2009

I was just reminded today via Twitter that the Holga Blog summer contest deadline is just four days away.  Naturally I looked through all my photos both online and not to find one that I think represents summer.  I know I am up against some heavy competition too.  Personally I don’t think it is a very fair contest to me given that I have spent the last three years in cold and wet Northern Ireland.  All of my photos from there feature grey weather or people in coats.  Not really the kind of stuff that screams summery goodness.  Luckily I have some shots that I have taken in Cincinnati that I think are quite summer like.  This one stuck out in particular.  I didn’t want to go with a cliched image of bright colored flowers and this shot seemed very unique and unconventional.  Whats more summery than a picnic table?  Maybe hotdogs and swimming but I have no photos of things like that.

I actually hate summer, this one in particular.  I have been away from my wife all summer.  These past months have been full of nightmares, sunshine and a lot of heat.  So what would be a better image to represent summer than a confusing photograph of lightness and darkness, green life and stony shadows created as a result of a malfunctioning camera?

Well maybe if you love summer and have had a great one then you might beg to differ so for you sun worshipers out there I include in this post my second choice for submission in Holga Blogs contest.  If you think I should rather submit this pretty picture of nice happy flowers you have 4 days to talk me into it.  Otherwise I am sticking with my original dark and vaguely optimistic representation of what summer is.

Both photos were taken with the Belomo Agat 18K.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2009 9:30 pm

    I vote for the confusing photo! I like it muchly. Sorry you haven’t had a good summer~ I hope things get better and you are able to see your wife soon!

  2. August 27, 2009 10:23 pm

    I’m with Jen on this one too.. the top one has a cool mystery to it.. I like that the images blend together but still carry the theme of the stone pillar..

  3. August 28, 2009 12:49 am

    thanks nic and jen for affirming my thoughts. i really do like how the colors worked in that one.

  4. August 28, 2009 1:59 am

    I like the picnic table under the brick pavilion (is that what it was?) It says hotdogs and potato salad and summer to me: summer that is just too cool, too shaded, for my sun-worshipping self. Yeah, I’m a summer girl, and this one was just too cool and too shaded. Nice picture! Hope you have a better autumn!

Leave a Reply

