Skip to content

Wake up, it’s a self portrait…

August 29, 2009

If you are into toy cameras like myself, and you should be if you read my blog, you should no doubt be familiar with Holga BlogHolga Jen recently wrote a great article over there about how to take self portraits with the Holga.  She also had the great idea to issue a challenge to everyone to take their own self portraits and post them to a special Flickr group for a chance to be featured on Holga Blog.

Well I don’t have the finances and the facilities to run a roll through my Holga and get it developed quickly.  What I do have is a lot of lo-fi photos sitting on my desktop waiting to be uploaded.  I woke up today and thought “hey, I have a really interesting self portrait to contribute.”  This shot was taken with my Beltica so I’m not sure if its breaking the rules to submit it.  The camera does have very basic settings and is broken at some shutter speeds so it only works at 1/100th of a second.  But it is also made of metal and has a glass lens.  I know for sure that it is lo-fi enough for my tastes but is it a toy?  The self portrait itself carries the same spirit of experimentation and happy accidents as most Holga or other toy camera images.  In fact I didn’t even mean to take this picture, I was just looking the camera over and accidentally tripped the shutter.

So when in doubt always ask and thats what I have done.  I asked if the camera was acceptable via Twitter and I leave this post as a question.  Is this “toy” enough?

And if you haven’t already, get going and submit your own self portrait to this challenge.

Though i might just hold off and do some undoubtedly toy self portraits.  The deadline is pretty far away.

One Comment leave one →
  1. zrisso permalink
    August 31, 2009 5:49 am

    I’ve always been a big proponent of not giving a shit about the rules. If it is a toy camera to you, and from you description I would agree, than it is definitely a toy camera. Besides, it’s a good photo with an interesting story.

Leave a Reply

