Skip to content

Optimism has returned like a tsunami…

September 2, 2009

I was going to save this photo for the end of my photo-a-day(ish) project for the same reason I don’t eat cake before Sunday lunch, I always save the best for last.  But I feel like today warrants a nice happy post.

This is my current favorite picture of my wife and is (I think) the very first picture of her wedding ring that I have taken.  I took it in Berlin with the Beltica camera she let me buy there as compensation for the cost of her beautification for our wedding.  So there is actually a lot of sentimentality wraped up in this photo.  And as you know I have been in America while she is over in Northern Ireland for exactly four months and 1 day as I am writing this.  This has in fact been the darkest third of a year that I have ever endured.  We only had a few weeks to enjoy being married before I had to leave.  So little of an amount of time that I didn’t have time to develop all the film from our wedding and actually got this photo developed in the states.  It was nice to get a little piece of her back from the lab while we are so far apart.

Why am I going on about all this sentimental fluffiness? I’ll tell you why.  I woke up today to an email from her saying that the organization helping us with my visa application called and said that everything should be ready to submit by Friday.  This is amazing news given that this organization has given us two other case workers that did absolutely nothing for us and wouldn’t even return our calls or respond to our emails.  And now the lady is actually calling us without us having to spend an entire month trying to get her on the phone.  This is utterly amazing.  Its like the feeling you get after having braces for years.  Its like camping for weeks then coming home and sitting on a comfy couch.  Its like Atlas when he gets a day of from carrying the world.

I haven’t been this happy or excited in a long time.  For the first time in a long time it actually feels like I am going to get to go back home and be with the woman I love.  I am closer to seeing my dog again.  And just think of all the cameras I have over there.  I think I am going to be smiling all day today.

And by the way, isn’t that an awesome leather jacket?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. archelonsgravity permalink
    September 2, 2009 7:07 pm

    Congratulations 🙂

  2. September 2, 2009 8:09 pm

    Congrats! Hope it’s all sorted soon!

  3. September 2, 2009 10:08 pm

    What an ordeal! I’m glad it’s all coming together for you!

Leave a Reply

