Skip to content

Boats and boredom…

September 8, 2009

Here in Cincinnati there is a certain radio station that has been playing the same music since I was ten.  Its always been a mix between whatever is popular and new at the moment from cookie cutter rock bands and rock music that you would have no problem finding amongst the tape racks of all the great thrift stores.  Basically the kind of radio station one would put on in the backyard with your feet in a grungy kiddy pool while getting that red on the back of your neck just right.

Every year on the Sunday before Labor day this radio station puts together a huge fireworks show on the Ohio River.  Its a pretty big deal in fact.  People come from all around and crowd the banks of the river all day.  Growing up I always saw the boats that hung out on the river and thought “wouldn’t that be really neat to see the fireworks from the water”.  I found out this past Sunday that it was not as simple as I thought.

My parents have a boat and since I am in Cincinnati for the first time in three years for these fireworks they wanted me to go out on the boat with them.  Little did I know that it actually meant no real time spent with family.  How it works is you take your boat up the river and tie up to a bunch of other boats.  Fair enough if you know at least one other person or have an urge to mingle with a bunch of really drunk mid-westerners.  But alas, I neither knew anyone nor had the urge to submerge myself in a nightmarish version of a really bad pool party.  I actually had to refuse to do jello shots with a middle aged woman.  My family disapeared into the flotilla and I was left to wait for nine hours in a place I didn’t want to be.  I just wanted to see some nice fireworks and spend time with the family, not party with a bunch of people who really seemed to want to prove something about themselves a little too much.

On top of all that I had a splitting headache the entire time and really bad heartburn.  All in all it was an excruciatingly boring day for me that lasted way too long.  The only redeeming factor was the actual fireworks show.  It really is a world class show and this was the first time I got to actually see the barge shoot them of.  It really was the perfect view from the river.  But I don’t think that I would want to do it again any time soon.

So to mark this non-event I present to you, my dear readers, some lovely shots from the last time my parents asked me to go out on the boat with them and left me alone while they chose to spend their quality time with their friends.  I took them with the Agat 18K and I think they turned out really nice.  So, I hope all my state-side readers had a better Labor Day weekend than I did and I hope you enjoy these nice summery images.  I really do love what this little camera can do.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

