Skip to content

Sooner, not later…

September 15, 2009

Ever hold the paper equivalent of you life in your hands?  I have.  Today, the post man rolled around and delivered an envelope with all the papers I need to send to the home office when I apply for my visa.  It was a pretty heavy envelope.  This means that I am very close to going home.  All I have to do know it get my fingers and face scanned then I mail the paper equivalent of my entire life up to Chicago and wait.

Everyday I have a cigarette out in my parents garage and todays photo represents the tedium and boredom that I have had to go through by waiting everyday.  I sit under this garage door looking out into a place I don’t want to be.  Everyone leaves their original home at one point and find a new one to cal their own.  Its really hard to know that your home is so far away and that your life is going on without you.  All I can do is wait and relish the fact that I have a wife that loves me so much she sends me packages of Drum just so I can sit in this garage and smoke cigarettes.

But today is a good day.  Today is a landmark day.  I have all the paperwork from Ireland here, I am able to hold it in my hands.  My future finally feels tangible, it finally feels real.  No longer will I have to think life can begin only in so many months.  Now it is in my control.  Now the end is in sight and the worst is behind us.  Now is good.

Yashica Minister D.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. junebug permalink
    September 16, 2009 5:58 pm

    Hey DJ!! I just popped in and found out that you’re in high spirit!! the news sounds great even to me, good luck!!!

  2. September 16, 2009 7:09 pm

    hey jun! it is good news isn’t it. i’m almost home.

  3. junebug permalink
    September 17, 2009 5:22 pm

    It’s absolutely brilliant, everybody’s looking forward to eating your corn chowder again:) and Susi will be happy once again!!! that’s the point now, good luck on your way home!!!!

Leave a Reply

