Skip to content

Whats going on Wednesday…

September 23, 2009

So I had a bit of a lapse in posts the past few days since I have been very busy.  Life is on the move right now and the past few days have been very eventful. What you may ask?  Lots, read on my friend.

I went and bought another Holga for the first time.  It will be the only camera I have two of.  But its not just any Holga, it was the much awaited Four Corners Dark Holga made especially for them by Randy at Holga Mods.  As soon as I heard that all the money made from these ten special cameras was going to go to charity I decided it would be a good thing to do.  And since I myself live a life of charity and work as a volunteer with my wife in Ireland it made it even more special.  I make no money and live in community so when I decide to give my money to something it means I really want to.  All of the proceeds on these cameras are going to go towards finding homes to animals in need and I am really happy that I could contribute.  My dog is a rescue dog after all and these things are very close to my heart.  Plus, I get an awesome custom Holga modified by the famous Randy himself.  Last I heard Nic has two of these cameras left so go over to Four Corners Store and help him out if you can.  And don’t forget that a portion of proceeds on all items in that store also go towards charity so even if you get the smallest item there it helps.

I am also getting ready to make my entry for Holgapalooza.  Something that I have been putting off for months and months.  I originally wanted to enter after I had gotten back to Ireland and gotten my long sought after negative scanner as some of my old scans are pretty crappy.  Sadly my stay in America kept extending and since the deadline is in two days I don’t think I will make it back in time.  Its a shame really since I have a few rolls from the Holga sitting over there undeveloped that I have a feeling would be perfect for the competition.  Instead I just have to sift through the ones I already have and figure out which ones I want to enter.  If any of you have any shots you want to enter and haven’t yet get over there and do it, the deadline is this Friday.

Speaking of procrastination, I finally got around to scanning five sets of prints from five different cameras.  I think I put scanning them off for so long from a combination of laziness and the fact that the only scanner I have access to is incredibly crappy.  One of the rolls was from a sampler camera that I found in a thrift store and fixed myself.  I took this camera out to take up Holga Jens self portrait challenge so most of the twelve test shots from it are me and my good looks.  Turns out its a really fun camera to play with.  Another one of the rolls was from the Vivitar Ultra Wide & Slim from when I was in Berlin getting married.  It was nice to see shots from that trip and really made me smile since I haven’t seen my wife for over four months.  There were even a few shots that Susi took of me on the roll.  The shots in this post are from these two cameras.

Of all the happening these past few days there is one that sticks out most of all.  I actually just got back from the post office getting this one done.  Thats right, my application for a British visa has officially been sent off.  By noon tomorrow some British bureaucrat will have my future in his hands.  This means that in four to six weeks I will hopefully be recieving in the mail a fresh and crispy new visa.  I am pretty confident that there will not be any problems since we have had some professional help putting the application together and it all looks good.  I’m still not going to count my chickens before they hatch though because Susi and I have notoriously bad luck when it comes to paperwork type things.  So keep your fingers crossed for us and hopefully I will get to go back home sometime in November.

So thats whats been happening in my recent life.  Its all really exciting.  I will definitely be watching the post for the next weeks, first for an awesome new Holga and then again for the single most important piece of paper in my life so far.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 23, 2009 11:10 pm

    Great cameras, great photos, and great news!

    And thanks for playing along in the challenge 🙂 Look forward to your entry!!

Leave a Reply

