Skip to content

The Altix’s last stand…

May 13, 2010

So the voices have been heard and the camera you wanted to see featured was the Altissa Altix V. A nice old German camera that takes 135 film. More about it can be seen if you click the “My Cameras” link at the top of the page and scroll a bit. This has been one of my favorite cameras for a while but sadly it is out of action at the moment. During my very long time in the states last year this camera got a but of a work out. But…

One day the film would not advance. I was quite sad needless to say. It turned out that the little gear that turned when the film advanced in order to cock the shutter is stuck. I know nothing about vintage camera repair and I have quite big fingers so there is no way I am going to open this thing up and tinker with it. Poor thing really. Its a great little camera and when it gets it right it really makes you happy.

Now these picture were a huge surprise to me. This roll of film had been floating around in a coat pocket since before last winter and I finally got around to developing it this past monday. I don’t know exactly when this roll was shot but by the looks of it it was a long time ago. These buckets of compost are from when we moved in to our house in February 2009.

Apparently I went around the house and garden, took some shots with the Altix and probably ruined half this roll when the camera broke, as there was only 12 shots on it. (Unless it was a 12 shot roll but who knows really). Its really an exciting thing to have a time capsule like this, especially as everything is changing right now both physically and otherwise. Its nice to be able to look back at little details you have forgotten. These images already have a dreamy quality to them. Having them revealed over a year after they were taken adds to this dreaminess and mystery.

The film was Kodak Gold 100 expired sometime in the past or possibly the future. Have I ever been an organized photographer? Hope you enjoy these shots. Stay tuned for a future post featuring the runner up of the wee little reader poll I did, the LCA+.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2010 12:54 am

    poor little camera. I think we have equal levels of organization lately. 🙂

  2. June 9, 2010 12:38 am

    Hi DJ, Just found the site and love it. So much in fact I’ve just added you to my blog roll at http://www.photomash.co.uk. I hope you don’t mind – keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

